Teacher being harrassed by admin

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctwith3

I am a Computer Science teacher in a public high school, and I have been teaching for 15 years.
Recently, I had a letter of reprimand placed in my personnel file by our Asst. Supt. The reprimand was for voicing my dissent on a policy in an email to a committee (of which I was a member) regarding a policy that is part of a technology plan to be presented to our school district's Board of Education for approval. My email was a reply to his new CIO/Data reporter, and the entire committee was cc'd. I purposefully omitted a salutation so that the email was not for any one person. I stated, "Philosophically, we can agree to disagree, I'm okay with that concept- we obviously have a difference of opinion on the impact of the suggested new policy," and was followed by the polite closing, "Have a good afternoon." Throughout the email I was professional, and polite, and never demonstrated any escalation of anger or intent to harm any person or any person's reputation. That email was followed by an email from the Asst. Supt. ordering me to meet with him- that email was cc'd to the entire committee, whom recognized his intention to reprimand me in some way. The next email suggested I bring a union representative to the meeting, but did not cc the committee. In an email exchange started by my union rep, to the Asst. Supt. and I the next day, my union rep stated his failure to recognize a problem in the email and the need for a meeting. I stated I was puzzled as well, and we had a meeting in which I received letter of reprimand, which would be placed in my personnel file. In said letter, he made the following statements:
"The purpose of this communication is to convey my disappointment in the way that you have expressed your displeasure with certain administrative decisions."