will a judge let him take my son?

Status
Not open for further replies.

imhismom

My EH is currently taking me to court. He is moving back to his home country and wants to take our 6 year old son with him. His main argument is that I am not that financially fit. He says he is afraid that I won't be able to support our son and that our son will have to go on state med insurance. I am a very good mom! I have had the same job for 3 years (I am a preschool teacher), I do not do drugs or drink. Right now my son has his bed in my bedroom until we move this summer. That is another one of his arguments. I do have a lawyer but wanted to ask you all what you think the chances are that a judge will grant my ex full placement and allow him to take my son from me. Thank you for your help!!

I do not think there is much of a chance he will be allowd to move the child out of the country. Do you have an attorney? Does the child have a passport? I cannot see how a judge would give him custody.

I made sure about a year ago that I had his passport. I have filled out the proper papers in order to be alerted if someone tries to get a passport for him. Bad thing is, my EH applied and was granted citizenship for my son from his home country and apparently my EH could get a passport from there and the US can't stop him from leaving. But my EH does know that he would face federal kidnapping charges!

I do have a lawyer but wanted to ask you all what you think the chances are that a judge will grant my ex full placement and allow him to take my son from me. Thank you for your help!!

If you trust your lawyer, speak to him about this matter promptly.

If you have lost confidence in your lawyer, hire a new lawyer.

You shouldn't complicate your situation by seeking advice from other sources.

Yes, there is always a chance that a judge could rule against you.

That is why you should seek solutions and remedies from the counsel you have retained.