What can I do and do I have a case?

Status
Not open for further replies.

troopergirl714

I was a substitute school bus driver for a local school district here in the Sacramento area. I have driven a school bus for 6 years, working for 3 different companies within that time. I had a spotless record before this situation. I had worked for this district for almost exactly one year and during that time, I had no accidents, no write ups, was always on time to work, had a good relationship with staff, co-workers, children and their parents. I had never been called into the office for any infraction. On July 11 of this year, while I was attempting to park my bus, I hit another bus and took out the mirrors on my bus. The bus next to me had minimal damage; a broken clearence light that was fixed while I was there and a scratch and dent on the battery compartment door. The bus I was driving needed the mirrors on the passenger side to be replaced as the damage was to the point where the bus had to be downed. The boss came out and took pictures of both busses and told me not to worry about it. Parking there was difficult because it's like a sardine can. She said many other drivers had had accidents there and that it was okay. She gave me paperwork to fill out and told me to go see the on site trainer to set up an appt to retrain (that is mandatory when you have any kind of accident.) The trainer and I set the appt for July 21st. The next morning, when I reported for work, my supervisor in dispatch told me that I needed to retrain immediately and asked me if I could come in at 11 am. I told her that I would call the babysitter, who happend to be one of the dispatcher's daughters, and see if I could drop my 9 month old grandson off early. When I got home, I repeatedly called my babysitter and got no answer. Her mom, from dispatch, called me and asked me if I had gotten ahold of her daughter and I said no. She then informed me that if I could not retrain before my afternoon rout