Should I initiate a payroll service while disputing w/ tue DOL that my workers are ind.contractors?

Oshkoshbijosh

Jurisdiction
New York
I'm a private chef and very occasionally I hire a server to help execute an event.
The dept of labor has deemed these people to be my employees and I am in the process of disputing it. I believe we have a very strong case.

However, these questions can hang in the air for a significant amount of time. So I n the meantime, I am faced with the decision of how to engage these servers for events.

I don't want to proceed in the manner that is already in question. (I call a third party who books the server for me, but I pay the server.)

I prefer to avoid using a staffing agency, as it kills a margin in my business.

i am inclined to set up a payroll service and be compliant.

So here's my question:
Would setting up a payroll imply to the pending judgement that I'm admitting what I had been doing was wrong?

I'm a private chef and very occasionally I hire a server to help execute an event.
The dept of labor has deemed these people to be my employees and is coming after me for money. I am in the process of disputing it, and I believe we have a very strong case.

However, these questions can hang in the air for a significant amount of time. So I am faced with the decision of how to engage these servers for events in the meantime.

I don't want to proceed in the manner that is already in question. (I would call a third party who books the server for me, but I pay the server.)

I prefer to avoid using a staffing agency, as it kills a significant margin in my business.

I am inclined to set up a payroll service and be compliant so as to avoid problems moving forward.

So here's my question:
Would setting up a payroll service imply to the pending judgement that I'm admitting what I had been doing was wrong?

Last edited by a moderator: