Security Harassment

Status
Not open for further replies.

pkphoto

I am inquiring if any lawsuit options exist in my situation

- I am a real estate photographer
- I had finished photographing the interior of an apartment located in a town center which does not allow photography without a permit
- I was walking to my car with the camera off, and covered.

- a security guard approaches me saying I can not take pictures of the town center; I tell him the camera is off and covered, and that he should not be approaching me.
- the security guard follows me to my car and repeatedly tells his manager over his radio that I am "harassing him," and blocks my path to my vehicle. I take a picture of this
- I call a police dispatcher and report I am being followed by town center security, and not being allowed to leave. The dispatcher asks if I want to have an officer arrive; the security guard over hears this and tells me I can go. I tell the dispatcher the situation has resolved.

- as I pull out of my car, his manager speeds in behind me on a motorized cart and blocks me in, nearly clipping my vehicle. I take a picture of this.
- I call the police dispatcher again, and she asks me to hand the phone to the security guard.
- she tells them to let me leave, so they do

- as I am driving away I notice my phone is no longer with me; I search my car and after not recovering it, I assume the security guard did not return it.
- this time I request an officer on the scene and two patrolmen arrive to retrieve my phone; they bring the security guards back, but they claim not to have taken my phone.
- the police officer who went to retrieve them then asks to search my car for the phone (I had already searched it a second time in front of the officer who stayed)
- the officer searches my car on the passenger side, then moves to the driver side where I can not see him, and recovers my phone. I suspect it was planted, but do not say anything.