Need Advice on Sole Legal & Physical Custody in NJ

Status
Not open for further replies.

whatsbest

I'm a 20 year old single mother who has a beautiful 1 ½ year old daughter. My ex (who is 28) and who is the father of my daughter is making my life a complete hell. We broke up 9 months ago when I realized that he was no help to me & my daughter and that he was in no way trying to make an effort to do anything to help me raise our daughter.
Here's a little piece of info about myself:
I am currently a junior in college, I work full time as an executive assistant for a well known corporation (SYMS, FILENE'S BASEMENT & CO-BRANDED FBSY STORES). I have never been involved with the law or in any type of trouble. I do my best to provide my child (who has Crohn's disease) with everything a child with two parents has, if not more.
BUT , I still reside in my parent's home on the ground level
( Which is basically like having my own apartment because I pay rent, my own gas & electric and provide all groceries, toiletries, clothing & personal items for myself and my child.
Here's a little piece of info about my daughters father:
His highest level of education is the 10th grade, he is un-employed and has been un-employed all of his life. He has no stable place of residence and has had many run-ins with the law. He has a VERY extensive history of violence domestic and drug& alcohol abuse. Has been incarcerated numerous times & this last arrest was for a high speed car chase & assaulting law enforcement officers. In the past he has been physical with me and has even sent me death threats. As a result (I have a (FRO- FINAL RESTRAINING ORDER) against him where he is supposed to have no contact with myself or our daughter unless instructed by court order which has not been ordered as of yet.