Increase child support?

Status
Not open for further replies.

limarc

I have read, over and over again, that if a NCP increases parenting time (overnight visitation) to more than 128 nights per year, child support obligations can decrease by 15-25%. My question is...then why can a NCP DECREASE visitation without increasing the amount of child support they pay????

My ex has missed 12-28% of his "court-ordered" visitation (and I realize that this term means absolutely NOTHING in this situation) during the last 4 years, which has caused $1000's of extra expenses for me and so much lost income that I can't even count. I'm a free-lance photographer and, because my ex refuses to give us more than 2 days notice of his intent to miss visitation, I have had to cancel many photo shoots in order to care for our 6 children when he refuses to. It's not just the money that concerns me...our children are feeling more and more alienated by their father every month. I have suggested that we work together to find a way to "make up" most of those days but he refuses. He wants LESS time with his kids which is REALLY REALLY sad!!!

Anyway, I think it is TOTALLY unfair that I'm "penalized" for being a decent parent while my ex is rewarded for being an MIA father much of the time. Even when he does take them, he does NOTHING with them. So, I was wondering if anyone has had success in modifying child support in a situation similar to this? I have kept every single one-line letter that he has sent (I will not have the kids on {date.}) and the post marks from the envelopes showing that he sent them a day or two before missing visitation. Is there ANY chance that we might get compensated for lost income or AT LEAST an increase in child support?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

You can try to seek court ordered compensation, I doubt you'll be successful.

Why?

Because, this is the bum you picked to sire six children with you.