Employee vs independent contractor

H

Hncourt

Jurisdiction
California
I was hired as an employee but last year the owner of my business made a switch and put all new hires on 1099. I told her I did not want this change for myself and she agreed to keep me as employee. Little did I know, as I was paid with personal checks from her on which she wrote a tax amount (turned out to only be ssi and medical), that for one year she was not withholding federal taxes, as if I am an independent contractor, but I never signed an agreement to that. Now I owe a very large sum of money to the government because I was being lied to. Is there anything I can do?

Honestly, you carry some of the blame here. You accepted personal checks and likely did not have a check stub or any account of your hours worked and deductions. You have some responsibility for going so long and not monitoring your income and deductions.
I highly doubt you will escape the taxes owed if you actually earned the wages reported.

I was hired as an employee but last year the owner of my business made a switch and put all new hires on 1099. I told her I did not want this change for myself and she agreed to keep me as employee. Little did I know, as I was paid with personal checks from her on which she wrote a tax amount (turned out to only be ssi and medical), that for one year she was not withholding federal taxes, as if I am an independent contractor, but I never signed an agreement to that. Now I owe a very large sum of money to the government because I was being lied to. Is there anything I can do?

You can report her actions to the IRS and the CA income tax authorities.

You might get a warm reception, because they sometimes will investigate the person employing you as an alleged tax cheat.

You might also ask the IRS if there is help for you because you may have been deceived.