Americans with Disabilities Act and Education

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manderly

I was curious about the Americans with disabilities act and if it applicable to educational institutions.
I am a student at a private university.
I am also 40 years of age.
I have a diagnosed anxiety disorder that I have been getting treatment for, for about 20 years. I am happy to report I feel I have improved greatly. In that time I have achieved 2 Assosciates Dregees, a Bachelors degree and a Masters degree. Also I have held my same job in community mental health for 16 years with great performance reviews. I am currently beginning my 4th year of Doctoral school.
Here is my problem. Because of my anxiety disorder (which I do not make public knowledge of because I am aware of the stigma it has) I can tend to be very quiet in class and have constant tremors in my hands in voice regardless of the setting. I have never asked the school for any accommodations and still prefer not to.
During some extremely stressful events in the past few years I guess my "nervous nature" showed through a bit. Upon inquiry from my academic advisor about why I looked so tired in class and did not participate in class discussion (which is extremely difficult for someone like myself) I told him very briefly about personal circumstances (custody case for my stepdaughter, still working full time, and financial strain). He advised me to let my other professors know about these issues so my "behaviour" (mainly the tired look on my face) could be accounted for and they wouldn't be quick to interpret all that as lack of interest. I never fully disclosed too much because I don't like "excuses" but I did mention court and concerns about money for school due to high attorney fees.