Zero Tolerance Policy

Bill Lee

Jurisdiction
California
I'm a physician. I will be placed on the company's zero-tolerance policy. The problem came about when I have some softwares (such as microsoft drive, pdf reader, etc) on the company laptop which they said could compromise their network privacy hence patient's privacy. I didn't know that I couldn't install software onto the company's laptop. They gave me a laptop and there was no restriction to not install the software. Later on, they blocked all the software I installed and I complied with everything they asked. Now (6 weeks later), all of a sudden, my boss called me to the office and said we need to investigate my computer use because it tampers with their security system. They have investigated the issue, and I will be seeing them soon to discuss this issue. They are planning to put me on the company's zero tolerance policy. What questions should I ask? How should I proceed with this?

Thank you

You should cooperate fully in their investigation; answer all questions politely and truthfully. You should recognize that it was negligent of you not to ask about any policies regarding downloads or installing other software on their computer and that you were in the wrong.

You should cooperate fully in their investigation; answer all questions politely and truthfully. You should recognize that it was negligent of you not to ask about any policies regarding downloads or installing other software on their computer and that you were in the wrong.