Worried about alimony.

Status
Not open for further replies.

timanonymous

I am really worried about having to pay alimony to my wife.

I have 3 questions.

Is a court going to think that her demands are reasonable?

Am I going to have to pay alimony in NC even though I have a a prenuptial agreement? (she is unemployed)

I work overseas, what if I can't make a divorce court date because I might lose my job if I show up for it? (for example, if my boss wont give me time off to fly back to the US in order to go to court)

Some background:

We have no kids.

We have been married 5 years.

She has 3 degrees I have only a HS Diploma.

She is 56, I am 29.

She is unemployed. I work in Afghanistan as a mechanic civilian contractor.

She has been unemployed for the majority of the marriage. I have been employed the entire time.

My income is approximately $100,000 per year before taxes but only
because I am a automotive mechanic in Afghanistan. If I was working in
the US I imagine my income would be under $30,000 per year.

I have a prenuptial agreement signed 2 months before the marriage. The prenuptial agreement explicitly states that neither party will pay alimony. However, I read on the internet in several places that in NC, if my wife in unemployed at the time of divorce (or eligible for public assistance) then she is entitled to alimony.

Right now my wife is asking for $13,000 plus $1000 per month for 3 years ($49,000).

I was going to use all my money to go to college after Afghanistan but now I am afraid that this might not be possible. I don't want to have to work in Afghanistan in order to afford to pay alimony to my spouse.

I am extremely worried about my situation. I have a hard time sleeping, working, and just doing anything else. Somebody please help me.

Your best strategy is to take some time off from your work and return to the USA.

Giving up a week or two of income is better than giving that lazy cow $50,000.