withholding final paycheck

Status
Not open for further replies.

jazziPA

My employer, for whom I have worked for almost 2 years, wants all employees to sign a copy of the office policy manual. When I was hired I was not shown this manual as they were in the process of re-writing it due to a change of ownership of the company. In reviewing the document I came across a section that I am not comfortable with...& I am wondering if it is even legal. It states that employees are required to give 4 weeks notice and if we don't, we will not receive our final paycheck! How can they withhold pay for time that I have already worked? If this is not legal, can someone tell me where to find the documentation to present to my employer showing that this is not legal?

Also, does anyone have any advice on how to handle the 4 weeks notice part? I'm a receptionist at a medical office, it's not like I'm a doctor & it will take them that long to find a replacement! Any position I have EVER interviewed for, including this one, wanted the person they hired to be able to start within 2 weeks. When I decide to move on, which could be soon, I have no intention of telling my prospective employer that I can't start for 4 weeks! In this job market, I can't afford to risk them choosing someone else simply because they could start sooner than I could! 2 weeks is pretty standard notice in my field.

I'm not sure how to handle this! I don't want to burn bridges when I leave because I will need them for a reference! I also can't afford to lose a paycheck...if that's even legal for them to do!

Last edited:
It isn't legal, and your signature on such a document is meaningless.

This website explains final paycheck payment laws for all states.

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/final-paycheck-employee-rights-chart-29882.html

Check it for your state, and if the employer violates your state's law, report the incident to the state agency that enforces the law for your state.