Wal-Mart - Fired for alcohol question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rebirth5450

Hello,

I work at a Wal-Mart in Colorado, United States.

I went out last night drinking, had a lot to drink and stayed up late. I went to work the next day and was told I smelled like alcohol. I figured I wasn't drunk but it was surely possible I might still have the smell on me.

I was sent with a manager, as I am a manager there to get drug tested as I complied because I had nothing to hide.

The store manager told me if I was at a .04 or lower during this suspension from work, all the days I miss I will be paid for. If I am .04 or higher then I am terminated.

I took the breathelizer and it registered a .029, which beats her figure, and then we left. After leaving we were told it was required that we had to go get the urine and blood test, so we had to go back to the facility and be tested for the urine since they would not do the blood. I don't know the results but logically we can assume it was lower and the urine test was done 3 hours later than the breathelizer. Obviously in both cases I am under her .04 score.

Is my job safe is the question?

Is this a state law of Colorado for firing employees that they have to exceed .04, which in Colorado is the minimum for DWAI the lower offense of .08 DUI?

Or was she lying to me and can I still be fired for this?

No worries on the urine test either, I do not take drugs.

Thank you very much for answering my question,

Rebirth

Thanks for the response whether I like the answer or not of course you're just being honest. I suppose that is true for anyone though in regards to bargaining agreements or contracts. I'm just wondering if state law or company policy protects me in this case.