Suspended

Lisa Voss

Jurisdiction
North Carolina
I was suspended yesterday from work. I work part time as a security guard. We had an employee of our client company overdose and had to be narcaned back to life. I was asked to call 911 which I did and went straight out to where the man was which I was told to go to the other post to work until further notice. After I got home that afternoon I got a call from my supervisor telling me that I am suspended until further notice. I called the boss over her head ( the one who said to suspend me) and he said he wasn't going to discuss matters with me and was going to block my number. I just want to know what I did wrong. No one will talk to me about what happened. Do I have the right to know why I'm suspended?

Not really. You can send a polite email expressing your concern and lack of understanding of why you have been suspended...

I just want to know what I did wrong. No one will talk to me about what happened. Do I have the right to know why I'm suspended?

It might be difficult, but your best option is simply to wait quietly UNTIL you receive a written update.

While you patiently await further details, I suggest you put everything you can recall about the incident in the form of a written report. The report MIGHT be useful over the coming weeks. Don't, however, share the report with ANYONE unless so advised by YOUR attorney.

Something more to deliberate and think about, it was/is a part-time job. Your efforts and energies might best be expended by beginning a job search for your next, great employment opportunity. That'll be far more useful and productive than crying over spoiled/spilled milk.

After I got home that afternoon I got a call from my supervisor telling me that I am suspended until further notice. I called the boss over her head ( the one who said to suspend me) and he said he wasn't going to discuss matters with me and was going to block my number. I just want to know what I did wrong.