1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Shoplifted (17 &16) no cops were called but have questions

Discussion in 'Juvenile Crime, Law & Court' started by SamanthaMcginnis, Jun 27, 2017.

  1. SamanthaMcginnis

    SamanthaMcginnis Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Jurisdiction:
    California
    My friend and I shoplifted $50 worth of stuff, we signed a paper saying we wouldn't come in the store without a parent and received a restitution fee of $225 each. Cops weren't called and we have another restitution letter coming in the mail at least that's what they said when we called them. I guess our question is do we have a court date? And if so what is the age in California of going into court with out a parent, I know in some states it's 17 and in others it's 18, don't have the nicest most loving parents so we can't tell them about this.
     
  2. zddoodah

    zddoodah Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,499
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    113

    What exactly does this mean. You obviously didn't "receive[] [any] fee." I assume it means that the store demanded that you (each of you?) pay that amount. Correct?

    We have no way of knowing. However, if the police weren't called and you have not otherwise been contacted by the police or the district attorney, the answer is probably no.

    You're a juvenile and, if criminal prosecution is pursued, it will be done in juvenile court, which means your parents will be notified. Your parents are also potentially liable for a civil fine (which is the likely basis for the store's demand for $$).
     
  3. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    33,007
    Likes Received:
    5,235
    Trophy Points:
    113


    You are INNOCENT until you plead guilty, or are convicted in a court of law.

    If thematter is set for juvie court, you won't get convicted.

    You will simply be adjudicated delinquent.

    You're MINORS, although some 17 year olds can be tried in adult court.

    I suggest each of you discuss this with your parental units ASAP.
     
  4. mightymoose

    mightymoose Moderator

    Messages:
    11,364
    Likes Received:
    1,962
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Agreed. The sooner you make your parents aware the better. They are the ones that will receive the demand for $225.
    It isn't a fine and it there is no legal obligation to pay it. They can discuss their options with an attorney, but you have to tell then eventually.

    No, as you describe it there is no police or court involvement and there likely won't be, even if they don't pay the demand (but they can get their attorneys opinion about that).
     
  5. shrinkmaster

    shrinkmaster Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    83

Share This Page