Returning to Surname on Birth Certificate: NC-1XX Packet Rejection By Clerk

ElkGroveSteve

Jurisdiction
California
I have submitted my NC-1XX name change packet twice to the Clerk for Superior Court of Sacramento County, and it was sent back twice now with form errors. (Sometimes I think that law school may be all about acquiring the facility to fill out templated forms.) I have been given conflicting advice it seems by the clerk in rejection.

This is about a name change for me (petitioner), my wife, and my adult daughter, all living in the same household. It actually restores the surname on my birth certificate: back in 1968, my mother imposed her 2nd husband's surname on her children, so I had been using this surname for 50+ years. My father still lives and the name change always affected him, and my wife and daughter are pushing me to restore it. Hence the petition.

On the form is the petitioner name and proposed name. But the clerks say I should put my birth name as petitioner name, and my proposed name as the target name. I believe they are confused in thinking I am trying to change my birth name. Plus I have the added difficulty of how to fill out the NC-110 form for each person: there is a part of signing for each petitioner, but are my wife and adult daughter petitioners if my name is the only name in the petitioner box?

Sometimes I think that law school may be all about acquiring the facility to fill out templated forms.

I intended to respond with an appropriate answer UNTIL I read your general insult.

I choose to offer no useful response to those who choose to insult me and members of one of my chosen professions.

I intended to respond with an appropriate answer UNTIL I read your general insult.

I choose to offer no useful response to those who choose to insult me and members of one of my chosen professions.