Reimbursement of fees for professional help with filing a Small Claim

Status
Not open for further replies.

markoe

I moved WITHIN Chicago (Illinois, Cook County) thus canceling my domestic gas delivery contract with People's Gas for my former apartment. There is a remaining balance of $234 which I tried to get back from People's Gas. The first time I called them was in the beginning of August 2008, since then I have called them 5 times (3 times asking for a supervisor, one time actually getting transferred to one) and wrote two "last chance"-letters threatening to go to Small Claims Court. I never got any mail or replies by phone from them, although they claimed two times having sent a check (there is no problem with the address they have, since I got my last bill from them).

Since I am new to the US and my time is precious, I would like to use professional help to file the claim. They say, I can claim reimbursement for the fees of such a service. My question is: If the fees for that service are higher than the claim itself (for example "CivilTree" takes $300), is there a risk that the judge refuses me reimbursement of those fees or part of them?

Since I am already posting, I have one more question: I probably should be able to prove that I have done all I can to settle the case out of court. Is it a problem that I cannot formally prove I made those 5 phone calls (I unfortunately did not note the names of the different persons I spoke to)?

Who's this "they" that says you'll be able to recoup legal fees in small claims court? There is a strong chance you won't get anything for the fees, even if they do not exceed the claim. I don't know the specific rules in Illinois, but many (if not all) small claims courts do not award costs for legal fees. It's a user-friendly process, and you're expected to do it yourself.