Ready to distribute financial account assets in mother's trust - Do I need a lawyer?

ThankYou

Jurisdiction
New York
My mother passed away recently. All of her financial assets were titled in the name of her living trust when she passed.

There are financial accounts at several financial institutions that hold stocks, bonds and cash equivalents. This would not be a final distribution as there is also some real estate in the trust and I will retain enough cash in the trust to cover expenses until the trust estate can be closed. So it is a partial distribution of her trust estate. More to come at some future date.

No estate tax, either federal or state, is due. I am the sole current trustee.

I am ready to make this distribution of the financial accounts to the beneficiaries in the percentages specified in the trust document and want to do so as soon as possible.

I am a financial expert so I do not need assistance with the financial aspects of the distribution.

Is there any reason why I need a lawyer for this and if so specifically what service do I need from them?

Last edited:
You would need to read and understand the trust document to distribute trust assets. If you can't do that, a lawyer is obligatory.

You would need to read and understand the trust document to distribute trust assets. If you can't do that, a lawyer is obligatory.

Thank you but I have read the trust document many times, had lawyers read it and provide specific services related to it in the past and I believe I understand it very clearly. I have been familiar with the document for many years and had a lawyer do some work related to it about a year or so ago.

So I don't think I would need a lawyer for that purpose.

Is there any reason why I need a lawyer for this and if so specifically what service do I need from them?

How Long Does a Trustee Have to Distribute Assets – What Can Beneficiaries Do