Professional Agreement Violations

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doittoit

Jurisdiction
Montana
I am a Physician Assistant just a couple of moths past honoring a year of a three year Professional Agreement (contract). I believe my employers are in violation of my contract and looking for confirmation that I am likely correct and suggestions of recourse. This has been a struggle for several months so negotiation is no longer an option unless their perspective changes.

When recruited my offer stated that I would have access to the medical facilities at a flat rate of $25. I did not get my contract until I had already moved and this was not in my contract, however, as I said it was part of my offer and was part of the working environment over the past year. They medical facility has chosen to remove this benefit and it is my belief as it was part of the working conditions that I signed my contract under that it violates the working contract by substantially changing my compensation and working environment.

Part of my contract includes a $500 medical stipend that I have been receiving for the last year. The medical facility has come to realize this is in violation with federal law and instead has decided to increase my pay by $500. This $500 dollars though is now taxable and is not equivalent to the compensation that it was previously. I contend that they are obligated to raise the amount to compensate for the difference.

These violations aren't enough for me to want to pursue restitution, but I also want to formally notify my employers that I feel this breaks my contract (giving me the right to seek other employment without retribution) and that my continued employment isn't an acceptance of the changes.