problems with my boss..please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brent_Adam

Hi, My name is Brent Adam and I am an aircraft mechanic. We had a plane come in for maint. and before we started on it we noticed a panel missing from the nose jack point. we noticed this during a COURTESY WALK AROUND. This walk around is done to see if there is anything missing, damaged, or something is just not right and needs to be addressed to a lead mechanic or a manager. One other mechanic filled out the walk around and we did address this missing panel to who we needed to at that time and I also NOTED IT IN THE WALK AROUND (TWO DIFFERENT HAND WRITTINGS. We looked all over for this panel and could not find it. Our policy is to put this type of panel in a bag and tape ti to the side of the aircraft in plane site so we don't foget it. This panel was no where to be found.We completed the maint. needed and relied on those people who were notified of this missing panel would take care of the matter. An Inspector released this aircraft back into service as safe to fly.

A few weeks later the Aircraft returned for maint. and another Mechanic noticed fan damage in the left engine. They found a panel they seem to think was the missing panel from the prev. visit in the engine.
Now.. We did not look into the engine on the previous maint. visit so we could not say there was damage at that time and the customer never knew this damage was even there untill my company told them on this visit.