Paternity and custody rights

Status
Not open for further replies.

needadvise

I am a college student, and had a one night stand with a girl, and now she is pregnant and says it is mine. Conception occured in Missouri, however, she has since moved to Utah. Her plans are to have a couple that is a family friend adopt the child. I've told her that I am willing to take full responsibility, and take custody. After I told her this, then she said my choices are to give up rights, and have this family adopt, or she will keep the baby, and I would pay child support for 18 years, and I didn't have the option to get custody. She doesn't even want the baby. I have text messages from her stating this. I will graduate in May, which is also when the baby is due. If I don't have a chance, by parents are willing to take on legal custody, or legal guardianship until I get out of school, get a job, and get settled. So, since I am still in Missouri, and she is in Utah, what are my chances of having a DNA test done before the baby is born, or will this all need to wait until the baby is born. Basically, she's told me not to ever contact her again, until I get a lawyer, which I'm planning to do. If this so called adoptive family is already paying her medical bills, will they have more of a chance?
Also, what laws would be accurate, Missouri, or Utah? Thanks.

Its your child and you may seek custody. Saying that if she keeps child she needs to make sure paternity established before that happens. If a child support is made you in turn can seek reasonable visitation. Due to the distance you can expect extended visitation during certain periods of time just not while child is infant