Nys labor law

Hello all !
This is my first time posting. I was terminated from my job today with NYS . I was an electrician with the state University for 6 years. The first 5 were great...i was an exemplary employee and never missed work...never was late and never had any disciplinary hearings. Last year my youngest son got epilepsy and was having seizures daily. I needed to take care of him during the day, and as such i requested a reasonable accommodation and had all the necessary paperwork from his nuerologists etc etc. I was told it wasnt a problem and would be taken care of. In the interim i was having to call in and use FMLA . This continued for 3 or 4 months . The duration of which i was on a daily basis asking to be accommodated as i could work 2nd or 3rd shift. And the entire time i wss told it was being taken care of ....and never given an answer when. Eventually i ran out of FMLA and was ordered to report to work or be fired. I had an interogation Hearing and when i showed the schools VP why i missed and all my exchanges with HR and management begging for a shift change.....i was given sympathy and told they would finally accommodate me. At this point my union president brainstormed that we would sign a "last chance agreement" if they did that. Mind you i had never had any disciplinary hearings or attendence issues before this. So im not sure why in fact my own Union wanted a last chance agreement. The agreement held me to 1 absence a month unless scheduled or unless a doctor's note was given for said absences. This was 5 months ago. Last week i was very very ill and had a fever of 104 the highest and 102 the lowest for 7 days . I went to ER 3 times and was scheduled for a CT scan this week. The doctor told me to go home and rest and i can return to work when my fever had cleared for 24 hours without the use of Ibuprofen or tylenol. I returned to work still having a fever against his orders. When i returned i was summoned to HR and told that the note is