Non-Competition Clause

S

solarpro

Jurisdiction
New Mexico
I work as a sales-person for an employee-owned solar installation business in Santa Fe New Mexico.

several months ago, I bought a minimum number of stocks in the business to become an employee owner. In doing so, I signed a Non-Competition and Non-Solicitation Clause. The Clause prohibits my employment with a competitor within 60 miles, for 1 year.

Recently, there have been several changes to the managerial and executive teams, and the outlook for the company is uncertain.

A competing company has offered me a sales position within the same geographical area, and I would like to accept, however I am concerned about the Non-Competition Clause. Is it enforceable, and would the company be likely to enforce it?

Is it enforceable, and would the company be likely to enforce it?

To be sure about the agreements you signed, take them to a lawyer and request the lawyer provide you with a written legal opinion as to whether: 1) the agreements are enforceable, 2) legal in New Mexico today [November 2016], 3) the advisability of ignoring the agreements, presuming they are legal and enforceable.

Yes, that will cost you money.
If money is an issue, be sure to inquire as to the cost for the lawyer providing you with his or her WRITTEN legal opinion.

Why would you want the lawyer's legal opinion to be in writing?

The lawyer's written opinion can be invaluable if you are ultimately sued by yoru current employer.

The lawyer's written opinion can also be used as an affirmative defense IF you are sued.

No one, not even a licensed New Mexico lawyer, or a licensed lawyer in one of the other 49 US states can know if an entity will sue you.

Forget that question, and seek a written legal opinion as to whether the documents you signed are legal on their face, or legal as the laws of NM require.

Is it enforceable