Need clarity on Employment agreement

ardent_guy

Jurisdiction
Michigan
Hi,

I work as a temporary resource for clients and am paid by the staffing firm which charges an hourly rate from the client. The client is likely to have positions open in the near future for which they may consider me for permanent employment. During on boarding with the staffing firm, one of the documents I signed has the below clause - I would appreciate if you could shed some light on what this clause entails, i.e.,

a. Can I accept permanent employment with the client?
b. Can I serve the client as an independent contractor immediately after resigning from the staffing firm?
c. What denotes 'information technology services'? I do not work in the IT field, so would this apply if i were in Finance?

Limitation on Employment with Clients. Employee agrees to immediately inform Employer if Employee receives an offer of employment from a client. Employee also agrees to keep all of client's consulting, employment or staffing needs confidential and to bring such needs only to the attention of Employer. Employee agrees as a condition of this agreement and the assignment of Employee to client that Employee will not solicit or accept an offer of employment with or otherwise directly or indirectly, on a full-time, part-time or temporary basis provide information technology services to client or its affiliates until the expiration of twelve months after the termination of this agreement.

Please advise.

Thanks,
ardent_guy

Also wanted to add that, I did not sign any agreement to work for the staffing firm for any specified amount of time.