Consumer Law, Warranties Need Advice about Release of Claims in connection with Refund of Fee (Sample form?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara007

My jurisdiction is: Washington, DC

I am a writer/editor and have a contract to product a document for a client. The agreement (contract) doesn't specify giving refunds, and in fact I have never been asked to issue one until now. A few weeks ago, the client was supposed to deliver some information I needed to produce the document and said that he would do it the following week. I didn't receive anything. Then last week I received a demand for a full refund from the client who expressed his dissatisfaction with my services, stating that he did not want to work with my anymore and that he did not want me to deliver anything more related to the work product (I had already delivered a partial draft document and was waiting for more input from the client to finish it.).

Although I felt that I was under no obligation to issue a refund, in the interest of putting this matter to rest, I send an email saying that I would refund 50% of the fee I had received contingent upon the client's signature of a document indicating his acknowledgement that this sum of money would be the only refund he would receive...something along the lines of a release. I have checked NOLO resources and have looked online for some kind of sample/model I could use for the release. Can anyone help? I really appreciate it.

Last edited:
re: Release of Claims- Refund of Fees question-additional info/advice?