1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Marriage

Discussion in 'Emancipation Law' started by Nicklll, Dec 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nicklll

    Nicklll Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can me and my girlfriend get married if she's pregnant shes 5 months til 17 I live in Texas her parents won't give consent for marriage because they don't want her leaving the house but we both want her out because her dad beats on her I'm trying to find any possible way we can either get married and her move in or her just move in and get out of that house any help???
     
  2. shrinkmaster

    shrinkmaster Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Wait the 5 months (30 character limit)
     
  3. ElleMD

    ElleMD Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    496
    Trophy Points:
    83
    If she is underage and being abused, contact CPS.
     
    KatDini likes this.
  4. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    34,083
    Likes Received:
    5,613
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Yeah, daddy beats her huh?
    You, you just have intercourse with her at age 15 or 16, huh?
    You do know that's a crime in Texas.
    If you're smart, you'll lay low until she turns 18.
    Otherwise, you might find yourself knocking boots with Bubba or Wicked Willie.
     
  5. Betty3

    Betty3 Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,967
    Likes Received:
    290
    Trophy Points:
    83

    If she really is being beaten (abused), definitely contact CPS - think of the child she is carrying also.
     
  6. disagreeable

    disagreeable Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    63
    In Texas, a 17 year old can legally run away as long as they notify the parents or local police of their location. The biggest issue becomes where did they go. If she moves in with you, the charge of harboring a minor and others can come in to play. If it is with a relative and she continues to attend school, the police are not likely to do anything. Refer to the Texas Family Code.
     

Share This Page

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.