Law that was passed AB 1618?

Haley B

Jurisdiction
California
Hi guys, I'm new to this.

I have a friend who was sentenced to 14 years for an armed robbery when he was 18 years old. He has been in there about 4 years already.
Since he's been in there, a newer law passed and he said he may be able to appeal his sentence?

it is the AB 1618 law that was passed and I've attached a photo below..
Can someone help me understand this & if this may be a possibility for him to appeal and how to go about this? Or even if the AB 1618 doesn't help, is there anything else we can try to do?

thank you

Hi guys, I'm new to this.

I have a friend who was sentenced to 14 years for an armed robbery when he was 18 years old. He has been in there about 4 years already.
Since he's been in there, a newer law passed and he said he may be able to appeal his sentence?

it is the AB 1618 law that was passed and I've attached a photo below..
Can someone help me understand this & if this may be a possibility for him to appeal and how to go about this? Or even if the AB 1618 doesn't help, is there anything else we can try to do?

thank you

Attachments

• 4E1D091B-3451-4A50-8640-16C693FA18FF.jpeg
    4E1D091B-3451-4A50-8640-16C693FA18FF.jpeg
    513.6 KB · Views: 8
What makes you think that this law (which is properly 1016.8 PEN now) applies to him? Did he have a plea bargain that required him to waive future rights?

What makes you think that this law (which is properly 1016.8 PEN now) applies to him? Did he have a plea bargain that required him to waive future rights?

If he did have a plea bargain that required him to waive future rights, what would that mean?
What would it mean if he didn't..

If he did have a plea bargain that required him to waive future rights, what would that mean?

It could imply many things, or it just might mean nothing, insofar as his case is concerned.