Is this harassment?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cenccrn

I am a nurse of 36 years. I have been employed at the same hospital for 14+ years. I hold many certifications and qualifications. My nursing quality by everyones admission is beyond reproach as is my knowledge and patient care. However over the past few years I have been "counseled" a number of times for having difficulty getting along with my coworkers. The long and the short of this is that I am accused of not having a positive attitude, of using negative body language and not treating all staff with dignity and respect. Now all this is fine except that I am absolutely denied the opportunity to be given any facts, times specific comments nor to be told who is making the accusations. I am just simply told that I must come up with a plan to 1. Refrain from making inappropriate remarks...even though I am not told what the remarks are. 2) Work with team in a positive manner 3) Demonstrate receptiveness to others 4)Treat all staff with dignity and respect and professionalism 5) Assume responsibility for my behaviors and actions.

I have tried to be positive and cheerful and helpful. I go to work with a positive attitude every day as I love my work. I just can not make any sense out of these vague requests and especially when I am not told what the behaviors are or who is making the accusations? What do I do?

What are the legal elements or Harassment?

Is this harassment?

THIS IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE!

Hello,

First of all, you must try not to let this play on your mind so much.
My mother has been a nurse for many years and has simualar situations crop up.
You see we all get very involved in our work and when we have spent many a year doing things a certian way, we all can often seem a little abrubt without realising it.
No I am not saying you are abrubt but I recently had this conversation with my mother.