Independent Contractor- Restrictive Covenants

Status
Not open for further replies.

jezy3

I am an independent contractor with a company that has placed me in a public school system. I do not wish to renew my contract w/this company next year, and want to contract directly w/the school sys. I do not have a non-compete clause, but there is a restrictive covenant that states: Confidential info constitutes a valuable trade secret of the Co., and Contractor agrees that for a period of 24 months no confidential or trade secret of the Co. will be disclosed, divulged or used for any purpose, indirectly or directly...which Confidential info includes but is not limited to Co. manner of doing business,names and addresses of customers and prospective customers,and names and addresses of Co. solicited by the Co. Confidential info shall not include any info (i)known by Contractor prior to execution of any agreement with Co., or (ii) lawfully obtained by Contractor from some source other than the Co., and Customer of the Co. of any Contractor employed by the Co.
What would the ramifications be if I contracted with the school system on my own? And if I started my own company, could I contract though that without getting sued, or violating anything?

Thank you for your help!!

Nothing will keep you from getting sued.

So you are saying, in regards to this matter, I would (likely) be sued for contracting with the school system on my own?

Q: So you are saying, in regards to this matter, I would (likely) be sued for contracting with the school system on my own?

A: No, of course not. I am saying in regards to this matter: Nothing will keep you from getting sued.

To CYA consult a lawyer about the language of the contract that way you won't be guessing and like Seniorjudge says nothing will stop you from being sued but at least you'll know ahead of time if they have a case or not.