Health Insurance

D

duke4life3443

Jurisdiction
Texas
I had surgery a little over 3 months ago on my knee. My job requires me to make lateral movements and be on my feet for 10-12 hours a day 5 days a week. I'm a salary non-except manager. I have developed RSD after this surgery and I'm being moved over to long term disability which is payed for by my company. I received a letter in the mail on Saturday 9/3/16 stating that my health and dental insurance was cancelled as of 8/31/16 when my FMLA was up. The letter also stated that I'm employed still but if I return and there is not a position available then I won't have a job. I'm just wondering if they can cancel my insurance without a notice and with me still technically employed according to the letter.

I'm just wondering if they can cancel my insurance without a notice and with me still technically employed according to the letter.

You asked and answered you question.

Your insurance was cancelled.

Your insurance may have been cancelled because your FMLA (12 weeks ended).

If FMLA is over, I suspect your employer is no longer OBLIGATED to cover you.

You might wish to discuss your options with your benefits department, or someone in the know still employed by your former employer!