Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft first time shoplift

Status
Not open for further replies.

pew007

I was caught shoplifting yesterday at Fry's in San Diego. I took some ink and a case for iphone, worth 94 dollars. The store called the police and he gave me a ticket saying I have to go to court in two months. They took a picture of me and my fingerprint. I was told never come back to the store again. On the ticket the violation was 484. petty theft/shoplift, and he circled misdemeanor instead of infraction ( i don't know which one was more serious). I don't know what to do now. I am an international student, non-citizen, non-residence. My concerns are:
1. is this going to affect my immigration status when i apply for my visa? if yes, how can i reduce it?
2. will i have problem at the port of entry?
3. will i be inaccessible or even deported from the U.S?
4. i had a clean record before, this is my first time doing this stupid thing, will i have a chance to get it dropped or dismissed?
5. will i be charged for a misdemeanor or something else?
6. do i need a lawyer or can i get a public defender? what's the difference?

Please, please help me out! i'm really scared and don't know what to do!

1. is this going to affect my immigration status when i apply for my visa? if yes, how can i reduce it?
Yes it can. Discuss your options with an Attorney familar with both criminal and immigration laws
2. will i have problem at the port of entry?
Possibly
3. will i be inaccessible or even deported from the U.S?
Possibly
4. i had a clean record before, this is my first time doing this stupid thing, will i have a chance to get it dropped or dismissed?
Ask your Attoreny if Diversion is available in your case
5. will i be charged for a misdemeanor or something else?
No penal code you gave is misdemeanor
6. do i need a lawyer or can i get a public defender? what's the difference?