Employer cutting my salary by 25%

Status
Not open for further replies.

starrynite

I'm a General Manager at a bowling center on salary (Amusement & Recreation Industry) and the owner told me yesterday that he is cutting my pay by 25% effective immediately. Can he do that - is that legal? Does he have to wait until the next pay period begins? Also, my hours will be increasing from 40 to 50 plus. Am I eligible for overtime pay?

Thanks for any help......

I'm a General Manager at a bowling center on salary (Amusement & Recreation Industry) and the owner told me yesterday that he is cutting my pay by 25% effective immediately. Can he do that - is that legal? Does he have to wait until the next pay period begins? Also, my hours will be increasing from 40 to 50 plus. Am I eligible for overtime pay?

Thanks for any help......

You're salaried, therefore, a 50 hour work week isn't unreasonable or illegal.

Salaried employees do not receive overtime pay by law.

Your employer can do anything, along the lines of pay cuts, except pay you below the minimum wage settings, or cut your pay retroactively.

A 25% pay cut going forward is legal.

It isn't smart, but it isn't illegal.

When things like this happen, it means the business is in financial trouble, or your employer is planning to sack you; once they have hired your replacement.

Nothing to see hera, nothing to sue about here, move along, move along.

You can always secure new employment elsewhere, or become an entrepreneur.

Is the new salary at least $640/week?

More accurately said, exempt employees (most of them) are not legally entitled to overtime pay; "salaried" and "hourly" are merely pay methods.

The only thing California law requires is that a decrease cannot be retroactive. Other than that, the employer could tell you as you walked in the door, that your rate is now $$$.

Last edited:
Patricia,
Thank you for your speedy reply! No, the new salary is below $640/week. What does that mean??