DUI with bodily injury

LBJJ

DUI with greatly bodily injury. I am combat veteran that has a substance abuse problem. I have a clean record and honorable discharge. First time in trouble. I got a recommended lawyer who helps veterans but his experience was in another county (Orange Counth, CA). My case is in Los Angeles County. First time we went to court he didn't know anyone there. After doing a little more research on him, i found out that he especilizes more in Estate Law. The DA recommended 4 yrs and 4 months. His strategy to handle my case was not to let the DA know that I was a veteran yet. I pleaded not guilty and no plea deal. Before my next court date, I decided to switch lawyers. The next one impressed me because he claims he knows the judges and the DA and he is buddies with him. He seems great and i paid him a little more of the third of his flat fee to represend me. But now, he is pushing to pay him the remaining when my other lawyer refunds me unearned fees. He is being pushy and wants cash or travelers check. He hasn't even appeared im court yet. Most of his reviews are great and suberb in avvo but a few reviews (one star) that he is not well respected in the courthouse like he claims. And that I should run. My gut tells me it is probably true. He is a good saleman. I'll give him that. My problem is that my next courtday is in one week. I don't know exactly what to do. Should I wait for him to make his first appearance or should I start networking and get another lawyer? This will be my third one. I have always been a law abiding citizen. I just made a stupid mistake. As soon as i was bailed out from jail, I got myself into an outpatient substance abuse program with the VA. I am going to AA meetings regurlarly and also PTSD treatment. I also was assigned a psychiatrist. My old lawyer used to care about those things. This new lawyer hasn't asked me anything about my treatment. I sincerely don't know what to do. Any advise would be truly appreciated. T