Disputing divorce terms

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thalia

My divorce was final almost a year ago, after 6 years of marriage. At the time of the divorce, I was completing my college degree, taking care of our child, and assisting my ex-husband with his business. We purchased a second home together, which we had rezoned and made into a wellness center. I remodeled the kitchen, which was to be my office. Throughout the marriage, I worked in my ex's office and assisted in the remodeling of the new office. When the new office was ready to move the practice into, he decided he "didn't have room for me" and didn't want me working out of there...said he needed all the space for his practice. All the education and planning I did went out the window at that point. This was the final straw - I had been considering leaving him for a few years and his "screwing me over" regarding the business was it. Everything I did for 5 years revolved around his business and planning to add mine to it.

He hired a divorce attorney, whom he claimed would fairly represent both of us. The attorney never contacted me - we never even met. Was the attorney supposed to contact me regarding my right to retain my own attorney? I didn't realize until everything was signed and done that the lawyer he hired did NOT consider my interests at all.

Here's what I got (or DIDN'T) get:
1) We split the mortgage payment every month, yet he claimed the house on his taxes for 2006 and says I cannot claim them in the future unless I get the loan solely in my name (both of our names are on the current mortgage).
2) I do not receive any child or spousal support, and he says he is never going to pay child support - even if/when I take over the whole mortgage.
3) Although I worked in his practice (he's self-employed) for 5 years and did not receive any benefits, I did not receive any money from said business when we divorced.