disgruntled truck driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrkane9

i am a truck driver and just ended my employement with my employer. during the course of my employement i took them up on a policy that they have that if you have an accident or incident that is 500.00 or less u can opt to pay that and have it reported on your driving record (dac report) as a non-chargeable offense. i chose to pay two items and i have the dates they were finished being paid. now that i have left the company i have been denied jobs and feel the company is at fault for me being denied jobs due to the fact that those two items are still on my report and they refuse to take it off. certain companies only allow you to have one or two chargeable items and those two items are hindering me from being employed. i would like to know do i have a legitimate claim. i have their employee handbook that states this policy. i feel they are just trying to make it hard for me to get a job and that they are at fault for me being denied and now i am eating the costs. what are my rights as an employee?

Well, you incurred the items, chargeable or not. That's your fault, not the company's. And the company is certainly not required by law to remove them. I'm not an expert on DOT regs but I don't think it's outside the realm of possibility that they may not be allowed to remove multiple items.

When you say you are being denied jobs, are you getting interviews and then not being hired? Or are you not getting interviews?

In any case, no, you do not have grounds for a lawsuit.

Your duplicate post has been deleted in accordance with the site rules.

If you are a truck driver you are required to basically have a clean driving record for employment. If you had 2 incidences then I do not see how you are wrongfully not being hired. I do not believe the company has any power to remove something from your DMV record.