discriminatory termination

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkcherry1

I work in the gaming industry. In Sep 2008 I was terminated for having a taco in the count room. The young lady with me (the one who brought the tacos) was not. I was instructed that it was a violation of gaming to have personal items in the count room. The violation was captured on video. The video was sent to the gaming commission and no action was taken. The gaming commission has yet to inform me of any such violation. I had performed duties in the count room for the past 4 years while consuming beverages and food, as has all other team members. The young lady(employed for 7 years) who was not terminated stated to me that she (on too many occassions to count) and the operations manager(employed 15+ years) consumed food in the count room. He to this day still works there. I understand that they, for some reason or other, wanted me gone. But, that does not make it a fair and just termination. The gaming regulations are in place for all individuals, not who management dictates. This has caused me a great deal in personal and financial hardship. Sep-May are slow months in gaming and jobs are very scarce.

You mention discrimination. On what basis? In order for you to even consider a discrimination action you first have to show how you were discriminated and why. Not to mention the reason needs to be because you belong to a protected class.

discrimination

Thank you for the response.

I understand your point. I may be placing my situation under the wrong title. Others have committed the same offense, repeatedly, regardless of race, color, religion, age, etc, and have not been reprimanded or terminated. I have been in the work force for 37 years and have never been terminated. I am confused and "uncomfortable". I just can't shake the anger and frustration that I was treated unfairly.

Last edited:
Okay, let's clarify.

If you had to guess, why do you think you were treated differently?