Denied Make Up Hours on FMLA

Status
Not open for further replies.

youareceo

Jurisdiction
Michigan
I am a former manager at a workplace and keep in contact with some of my peers. It came to my attention that a female employee, who is over 50 and having a serious health condition, had FMLA filed and approved on for an intermittent condition. She is full time and worked for over the year and hours.

I hate to steer the conversation, but please don't question the reasoning behind the FMLA and it's approval - it's set in stone which means we don't need to dissect it nor why she needs it. She IS able to perform her job duties when not experiencing an issue, cannot work when she does experience one, and she is safe at work until experiencing the issue.

The environment is automotive dealership, which means some of the traditional HR procedures are similar to automotive union, like where the First Aid Kit is, *vacation time paid lump sum annually, etc. This particular company is so paranoid of unemployment they hired a consultant who trained managers. Maybe they had an EEOC, wrongful termination or OSHA enforcement about it, who knows...But I genuinely think, based how I wanted terminate troublemakers at will, that they are intentionally avoiding legitimate unemployment. This is their call center. Saturdays are on a two person a shift rotating basis with comp days built in.

Before I transitioned to a new company, a few things were true:
1. She had an increasing attendance problem. (Cause)
2. Making up hours was directed by upper management as only when there was a business need, unless they used approved time off with no distinction between paid and unpaid.* (Enforcement)
3. She was one of the employees the new manager, who I trained, was looking at dumping for attendance. (Malice)