Concerned about defamation resulting from a contract dispute

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara007

My jurisdiction is: Washington, DC

I need advice about actions I can take regarding defamation/damage to my reputation in retaliation for my refusal to issue a full refund in connection with services/work product under a specific contract.

I recently posted a couple of threads in the contracts section concerning the background of this issue and will do my best to summarize the situation here:

1. I'm a writer/editor and entered into a contract related to the production of a specific type of document. There was no refund clause in the contract (and with the exception of the recent situation, I've never had a request for a refund or encountered this situation in all the years I've been doing business.

2. In order to produce the document, I required input and information from the (now former) client. This information wasn't delivered despite my request and an e-mail from the client saying that he would provide it.

3. Ten days after the last time the client informed me that he would provide the information, he abruptly terminated my services via e-mal stating that he didn't want to work with me anymore, asking me not to send any further documents, and requesting a full refund.

4. I responded by saying that although I was (and am) under no obligation to provide a refund of any kind, I would be willing to issue a partial refund in consideration of the ex-client's acknowledgement that the partial refund would be the only refund and signature of a release of claims.