Company is not paying for work done 4 months ago! I need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

xtremerider954

Hi. I really need some help here. I worked as a satellite installer for a company this last summer, and I left the company on August 9, 2010. As of today ( Dec. 16, 2010) they have not paid me my final check which I desperately need. I had to wait 90 from the day I left as per an agreement we had when I started with them. I was told by their payroll department that I could expect my check as soon as that 90 days was up. That day came and went. I contacted them a few days after the 90 day period and was told I should get it in a week. A week later nothing. I called again and was told my paperwork was being reviewed, and I would receive my check as soon as that was done. They had already had my paperwork for over 90 days at this point. I contacted them repeatedly after this, and I was always told it's being mailed out this week or it's under review. After 120 days had gone by I told them I would be contacting a lawyer if I did not receive my check. They will not even return calls or emails now. Can someone help me?

File a complaint with the North Caolina DOL. Under NC law, you should have recieved your finla pay on the next regularly scheduled payday.

Thanks for replying. The only problem with that is that I wasn't a direct employee of the company. It's a company that sells satellite systems, and I was an installer paid like a sub. And I can't file liens because it's been too long, and I would have had to file one on every house that I did. This has happened to other installers who left them also. It feels like they never intended on paying me from the day I left.

Well, you WERE an employee, the company misclassified you. On purpose, I'll bet. There have been numerous of these companies who have been caught misclassifying installers as independent contractors, when they should have been employees.