Can a 17 year old really be charged as a runaway.

AlGrahamBell

My situation is a bit different; I am not a parent with an unruly child attempting to leave home. Nor am I a spoiled child trying to get away with running away from an adequate home. I am 17, I will be 18 in 8 months. I graduated high school at 16. From there I have worked two part time jobs(which is as close to "full time " I can work until I'm 18. I am financially independent. I provide for myself because my parents won't (as I have since I was 16.) My parents have shown me neglect, physical, mental, and emotional abuse. However, any time a case has been opened with DCS they always passed the inspection. Because, let's be honest, if you're not poor, not on drugs, and can greet your casemanager with an amiable, hospitable tone-then DCS is more likely than not going to dismiss the case. At one point I left home last year and managed to get my own place. I had an older friend co-sign for me on the lease and utility company and whatnot, and my mother had tried to press runaway charges. Well, she stopped the threats after a while and nothing happened.