Bad Reference

Jurisdiction
Arizona
Hello,

I have been applying for teaching jobs in the Phoenix area for several months. One district told me, I had a bad reference. I am pretty confident who that was. My other teaching jobs have all told me they gave "glowing" references. What recourse, if any do I have against that district bad mouthing me?

Until you determine exactly what was said, there's little you can do. And getting that information will not be easy, or easy to prove. If you know who is tarnishing your good name, remove them and all reference to them from your resume and application.

If the information is true, or if the person providing the information has a good faith reason to believe it is true, or if it represents the honest opinion of the person who is providing it, then the answer to "what can I do about it" is, Nothing.

Unfortunately, I do not exactly know what they are saying. I am working on that part.

There are private investigators who can pretend to be a potential employer, call the former employer for a reference, and secretly record the conversation (legal in AZ) for later use if you have grounds to sue somebody.

Neither you nor your family or friends will know how to do that properly so it gets results. It'll be worth what you pay a professional to get it done right.

Do you feel that you (or an investigator) can:

Prove the statements are false?

Prove who made the statements, to whom, when and under what context?

Prove that the false statements caused you to lose out on employment for which you are qualified for?

Prove that without those false statements you would have been a shoe in for the job?

If yes to all of the above...speak to a few local attorneys regarding a defamation (or libel if they wrote these statements via email) suit. Most attorneys will provide you a one hour free consultation to hear about your tale of woe; inquire about this when contacting them via the phone initially. Best of luck.