An attempt at Emancipation

Status
Not open for further replies.

StaticInMyHead

Hi, I am a very soon-to-be 16 year old (4 days, actually), and I have been seriously looking into emancipation. I am new to the concept, and I need to guarantee that my efforts of trying to become emancipated aren't a total loss.
My reasons are these: My parents provide absolutely no emotional support to my life. Anyone that I could possibly go to is cut off by my dad; he won't let me talk to anyone about my issues and problems at this point in life. He threatens me when I do talk to people. Now, it may seem that I am just a regular teen wanting to get away, but what kind of parents is justified in taking away all emotional outlets? Any sadness or depression that I have is just building inside me--I can't escape it. In effect, all potential happiness is taken away because I am not allowed to see the people dearest to me. I can't get away, and my dad is making my life miserable. If I could just get emancipated, I would not have to live with his pressuring personality and actions.
That is all in addition to his drinking habits and his threats. When I talked to someone about my problems, he threatened me by saying he would "kick my butt", to clean up the language a bit. I don't want to live in fear. I don't want to live in depression. Emancipation would fix all of it.
Does anyone have input on this? Any information or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

First off, just so that you know, not all states will emancipate a minor, and of the states that do, not all of them will emancipate a 16 year old. What state are you in?

Secondly, and I am not putting you down, it has been my experience that a great many kids do not fully understand what emancipation means, let alone what it entails. So before I go into the requirements (for which I need your state anyway) why don't you tell me what your plans are, assuming that emancipation is possible in your situation?