1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Age of consent

Discussion in 'Juvenile Crime, Law & Court' started by Abstraction123, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. Abstraction123

    Abstraction123 Law Topic Starter Guest

    Jurisdiction:
    Idaho
    Currently my girlfriend is having my baby that's due in September, the problem is I'm only 17 years of age turning 18 in December so me turning at age of consent is irrelevant. But she is going to be 20 on July of this year. Can she be accused of rape because she is having a baby with a minor and had sexual contact with a minor. As well she is going to be 3 years older than me by the time she has my baby?
     
  2. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    33,318
    Likes Received:
    5,349
    Trophy Points:
    113

    The answer is YES, any adult can be charged with a sex crime for having UNLAWFUL, CARNAL KNOWLEDGE of a minor.

    By the way, I would have my parents request a PATERNITY test BEFORE accepting any woman's claim that I'm the father of her baby, especially if she had raped me as a child.

    Have you heard about SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED DISEASES?

    Better wear a glove, to protect your little "worrier", pal.
     
  3. Abstraction123

    Abstraction123 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you very much for your feedback. And The girl and I had each others consent but would it be a legal matter if once the baby is born and I would sign off as the dad she can be prosecuted and sent to Jail? That's what worries me most.
     
  4. shrinkmaster

    shrinkmaster Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    83
    A minor less than age of consent cannot give consent thus the sexual acts were illegal and action can taken against the adult.
     
  5. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    33,318
    Likes Received:
    5,349
    Trophy Points:
    113

    As noted above, a minor has no legal standing to give consent to an adult to sexually abuse him or her.

    As I said, mate, you might not be the father.
    If you are the father, child support looms large in your future until you are about 36, mabe 37 years of age.
    That presumes, of course, what your parents do about the way the adult has savagely ravished you and robbed you of your sweet, childlike innocence and purity, son.
     
  6. cbg

    cbg Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    1,611
    Trophy Points:
    113

    The age of consent in Idaho is 18. That means that if you are under the age of 18 she committed a crime when you had sex. The age of consent is very relevant; you cannot legally consent. It doesn't matter if you agreed to it; it doesn't matter if you got down on your knees and begged her to have sex with you. You are still below the age when you can legally consent - therefore there was no consent.

    So yes, she CAN be charged with a crime and she CAN be convicted of a crime. Whether she WILL be charged or convicted remains to be seen.
     

Share This Page