Statute of Limitations West Virginia Statute of Limitations, Civil Actions

The West Virginia Statute of Limitations for civil actions sets a time limit after an injury or civil wrong occurs, during which an injured party can file a lawsuit. After that period of time expires, the injured party is no longer permitted to file a claim in a West Virginia state court to litigate that matter. The statute ensures that lawsuits that have merit and worthy of being heard are filed within a reasonable time or not at all.

How Does the Statute of Limitations Operate?

The period of time to file a claim will vary depending upon the type of incident that occurred. A claim against a doctor for medical malpractice may be for a different length of time than against an accountant for negligence or fraud. The West Virginia statute of limitations can generally be found within the West Virginia Code, Chapter 55, Article 2 and covers the following rules and exceptions in greater detail.

When does the West Virginia Statute of Limitations Begin?

Other than for specific exceptions, the West Virginia statute of limitations generally begins to run at the time when a "cause of action arises" - in other words, at the time when an injury occurs that would qualify for a lawsuit to be filed in a West Virginia state court.

What is the Discovery Rule?

There are times when a person is unable to discover that they have been injured. For example, fraud that is concealed by an accountant and is not easily discoverable or a medical condition resulting from a doctor's misdiagnosis that can only be detected after the patient's health deteriorates. It wouldn't be fair or reasonable to require the injured party to file a lawsuit when they could not have detected the injury. As a result, in some instances the West Virginia statute of limitations begins to run from the time the injured party discovers or should have discovered that they have been injured.

Delaying or Tolling the West Virginia Statute of Limitations

In certain circumstances, fairness would require that the statute of limitations be delayed for a period of time. A party may not have the ability to bring a case even though they are aware of an injury or damages. Delaying or "tolling" the statute of limitations typically occurs when the plaintiff is "disabled" - such as a minor child or a person who is mentally incompetent or bankrupt. Once the disability ends, the statute of limitations begins to run.

Calculating the length of time that a plaintiff has to file a lawsuit is complicated and involves many factors and exceptions. Parties that have suffered significant injuries or damages may wish to consult with a West Virginia attorney to ensure that all claims and notices are filed within the time limits set forth by law.

West Virginia Legislature: West Virginia Code

Personal Injury and Negligence

2 years, generally with Discovery Rule.

Wrongful Death

2 years.

Medical Malpractice

2 years, generally with Discovery Rule but not more than 10 years from the date of the occurrence. Minors under age 10 have extended time, see the statute for more information.

Legal and Professional Malpractice

2 years.

Products Liability

2 years.

Assault and Battery

2 years.

False Imprisonment

1 year.


Written contracts 10 years. Oral contracts 5 years.


2 years.

Personal Property Damages

3 years.


2 years.

Libel / Slander / Defamation

1 year from the date of publication (or the date when spoken).

Debt Collection Accounts

Collection of Rent

5 years.

Judgment Enforcement

10 years.

Liability of State and Municipalities

Sovereign immunity not waived but many limits apply.

No-Fault Insurance


Consumer Fraud Complaints

West Virginia Office of the Attorney General

Telephone: (304) 558-2021
Toll Free: 800-368-8808 (consumer protection)
Consumer Protection: (304) 558-8986

Please Take Note: The statute of limitations laws presented are strictly provided to you "as-is". While we believe that the legal information is accurate as of the date created, we cannot and do not provide any guarantee, analysis or conclusions. The law may have changed since this article was published. The only way to ensure that the statute of limitations law you are reading is up to date and applies to your specific issue, is to have a legal consultation with an attorney licensed to practice law in the state of West Virginia.
  1. West Virginia
Lawsuits, Disputes
Statute Of Limitations
About author
Michael Wechsler
Michael M. Wechsler is an experienced attorney, founder of, A. Research Scholar at Columbia Business School and of-counsel to Kaplan, Williams & Graffeo, LLC. He was also an SVP and chief Internet strategist at and legal consultant at Kroll Ontrack, a leading service e-discovery and computer forensics service provider.


There are no comments to display.

Article information

Michael Wechsler
Article read time
3 min read
Last update

More in Lawsuits, Courts & Mediation

More from Michael Wechsler

Share this article