N Right to Work State

Jurisdiction
North Carolina
I'm a Special Eduction teacher in North Carolina. We are a right to work state with no union. If we are not provided enough time during the workday to complete required paperwork (progress monitoring, service logs, IEPs, revaluations, BIPs, etc.) due to serving students and attending meetings. Am I required to complete my paperwork after hours without compensation?

Last edited:
Am I required to complete my paperwork after hours without compensation?

I suggest you seek a meeting with the Assistant Principal assigned as your Teacher Supervisor.

Heck, why not seek a meeting with the school's head honcho (herself/himself) the principal?

Finally, having represented several teacher's labor groups over the decades, I always advise teachers and administrators to read their contract.

More often than NOT, the answers sought can be discovered by THOROUGHLY and COMPLETELY reading the contract you were offered and signed in the spring.

Working under an employment contract and/or a "collective bargaining agreement" makes one's workday easier, rather than harder.

Why?

Because your contract and/or the CBA spells out duties and responsibilities for all to see. Now, get those documents and make yourself a good, hot cup of coffee, hot chocolate, or tea; settle into a comfy reading position and become a fully informed employee.

Am I required to complete my paperwork after hours without compensation?

Author's note:

My wonderful wife retired in 2021 after a 35 year career as a high school teacher and later a high school principal.

TEACHERS are underpaid, overworked, and are kept busy doing many tasks each evening and on the weekend. My wife never allowed the bad stuff to get to her. She said teaching was a calling, and she knew she'd never get compensated in money for her efforts. She said she felt rewarded when students of yesteryear would stop by to thank her for not giving up on them when they were struggling.