JustCause

Jurisdiction
Alabama
Let me introduce...I'm a 30+ year veteran RN (Registered Nurse) in the operating room (recently retired). Consents are a big deal, particularly in cases where a person is judged to be unfit to make decisions. As an extremely meticulous judge of valid or invalid consents and consenting processes, I made it my top priority to ensure that the process and the consent were within the parameters of being medically and lawfully sound. After all, as a nurse, I do not have the luxury of qualified immunity should I make a mistake and is why I carry millions of dollars in malpractice insurance.

Law enforcement has adopted the use of implied consent and unfortunately, their 'slip' is showing. They are doing it WRONG. In case you are unaware, many states, if not all, proclaim that upon the acceptance of your driver's license, you are implying consent to officers should they use their 'discretion' (God help you) to determine a blood alcohol level is indicated, and don't be surprised if the officer whips out his 'phlebo-kit' and pulls out a tourniquet and a hypodermic needle. In some cases, when there are five and six officers, it gets pretty brutal for those suspects who resist, refuse and will not cooperate. Those possessing this special skill in needle wizardry are called 'Phlebotomy Officers". He is paid more for his special skills and he may be on patrol, stationed at the precinct or he may be summoned to the 'field' at the behest of another officer who needs a blood draw. If there are no phlebo officers around, the department may develop policy to call members of the Fire and Rescue team to draw the blood. Why don't they just get a doctor or nurse to draw the blood? Good question...and there is an answer coming...

DILEMMAS:

Implied consent can be withdrawn at any time and for any reason. So, your DUI suspect can simply withdraw the 'implied consent' as represented by his driver's license.