Is this wrongful termination?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Itspink

Jurisdiction
Pennsylvania
I was fired from my job (IN A TEXT). No reason was stated. I had asked for a reason, none was given. I asked both my supervisor and a higher up for a number to contact the highest superior and nobody let me contact him. I work In sales and have been at this company for consecutive years meeting all of my performance standards with an above average rate. I was in the process of moving and had to take off Monday (which I gave prior notice, my boss was okay with it.) On Friday(today), which is not a mandatory work day,I decided to go in with a few other coworkers. I do not have my license and they have been picking me up and taking me home for months with no issues. The driver and other coworker decided not to work. I let my boss know we decided not to work after all. My initial boss was okay with it and did not cause a fuss considering it wasn't mandatory. However, the higher up boss decided to fire me(just me) and said because I did not show up on Monday (which I have stated before was known and understood I had an important housing situation to be at). Iam the only female at this place of employment and out of everyone that decided not to work, I was singled out and fired? Now he is saying that if I have any complaints to come speak with him Monday morning. I was fired in a text message with no prior warnings or write ups. I'm assuming this is illegal?

Based just on what you posted, I don't see anything illegal unless you can prove you were terminated just because you are a female.