Wrongful Termination-Pregnancy

Status
Not open for further replies.

katiesmommy05

I was notified last week that due to a layoff I would no longer be employed after April 20. I am 36 weeks pregnant right now. I was not the last person hired for the same position but I do make more money than the other employee because I have a master's degree instead of a bachelor's degree. Is that enough for them to justify firing me instead of firing him? I know I was fired because I am pregnant, but I don't know how difficult that would be to prove. To complicate matters, I live in Florida which has virtually NO labor laws to protect the employee.

It is not against the law to lay off a pregnant woman. The economy is ina recession right now and lots of people are losing their jobs. Are they giving you any severance? After your severence runs out you should be able to file for unemployment.

You cannot be selected for layoff BECAUSE you are pregnant.

You can, however, be selected for layoff IN SPITE OF being pregnant. Pregnancy is not a get out of jail free card.

If you would have been the one selected for layoff if you were not pregnant, then it is not illegal to select you for layoff in spite of being pregnant. It only makes sense, if there are financial problems within the company and one of two employees have to go, to select the one with the higher salary.

Left with a piece of paper and a two week notice.