Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Work Place Theft

Snipe3286

Jurisdiction
Idaho
I was caught taking cash from my place of business, roughly $1,000. I have not been formally charged yet. My Loss Prevention Officer did call the police and they came, got my information, and said to contact a lawyer as they were going to have me come down to the station in a few days to answer some questions. I do not have the money to retain a lawyer and everything I am reading says to NOT go down and talk to the police without a lawyer to represent you. I am not sure what my options are at this point. Can I ask for a public defender at this point or do I have to wait until I am officially charged? Will they charge me with the crime before they have me come down to the police station and then at that point I can ask for representation?

I am a Retail Theft consultant and answer questions like yours daily. If requested to be interviewed you may grant request but first words out of your mouth should be "I want a Lawyer" after that you answer no questions!

Can I ask for a public defender at this point or do I have to wait until I am officially charged?

DON'T ever submit to an interview with ANY law enforcement person or agency, that includes the prosecutor or DA.

If they take you to the interview room, this is what you say, "Sorry, I will remain silent and speak only to MY lawyer about this matter."

READ ON:

You can request a public defender during your first court appearance.

When you are booked, make no comment about the case, except to say, "Sorry, I will remain silent and speak only to MY lawyer about this matter."

It is okay to provide your name, date of birth, address, marital status, social security number, and other personal details.

Do not say one thing about the case, BEFORE or AFTER you utter those words in quotes above.

Will they charge me with the crime before they have me come down to the police station and then at that point I can ask for representation?