When does Performance Improvement Plan and non renewal becomes unlawful?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaLoo

Jurisdiction
Wisconsin
Hi,

I am a high school teacher and recently my contract was not renewed.

Some background information:
I am not white and I speak fluent English but with some, not heavy, accent. My English is perfectly comprehensible according to everyone who has communicated with me.

I complained numerous times to my administrators and the HR director that I was racially harassed by some of my students. The students mostly couldn't be identified as they wrote/drew discriminatory message/graffiti such as swastika and 'Deport Mrs. (my last name)' on the classroom textbooks. Some students even said 'You can't speak English'. Some of my students laughed at me at many of my mispronunciation. I reported all of these to the administrators and HR prior to being placed on a Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) and what followed afterward.

I have a question regarding a Performance Improvement Plan and preliminary non renewal notice that eventually led to final non renewal. The whole process was unduly expedited to a point that I was not given any opportunity to improve my performance. When do these become unlawful? Are an unfair PIP and preliminary non renewal notice (eventually resulted in final non renewal) considered adverse employment actions? I am trying to find out if my experience rises to retaliation. Had I not complained of racial harassment, would my contract still be non renewed?